Association Leadership

Jim Brown, Executive Director

Mr. Brown's educational foundation is built on a strong academic background. He earned his undergraduate degree from West Liberty State University, specializing in elementary education with a focus on special education. He further strenghtened his expertise by obtaining a master's degree from Marshall University, with a concentration in leadership studies. With a career spanning nearly four decades in public education, Mr. Brown has consistently demonstrated a commitment to educational excellence. He has served in a multitude of roles, contributing to the growth and development of the education system. With twenty-six years dedicated to school administration, he has served as a principal, central office administrator, director of curriculum and instruction, and assistant director at the West Virginia State Department of Education. Moreover, his leadership extends to having served as a superintendent in three districts. Currently, Mr. Brown serves as the Executive Director of the West Virginia School Board Association, a role that affords him the opportunity to continue his efforts and commitment to advance public education in our state.

Executive Committee

Tammy Samples, President, Upshur County Schools

Jared Billings, President Elect, Mason County Schools

Pay Gray, Vice President, Fayette County Schools

Ron Lytle, Financial Officer, Monongalia County Schools

Patrick Murphy, Immediate Past President, Berkeley County Schools